Five Best Films I saw in February

I was a total slacker this month in terms of watching and writing. Let’s hope I can change my ways! As usual, only first time viewings and alphabetical.

The Big Parade (King Vidor)

Diary of a Country Priest (Robert Bresson)

The Ladies Man (Jerry Lewis)

What Have they Done to Solange? (Massimo Dallamano)

The White Ribbon (Michael Haneke)

2 responses to “Five Best Films I saw in February

  1. I know you’ve been waiting for The Big Parade for a long time: were you blown away?

    I’ve seen it twice, I think, but it’s been a long time. I think I enjoyed it better the 2nd time around (the somewhat jazzy scoring I watched it with threw me off the first time); the shot of the lovers with the army filing by is quite a ravishing moment, isn’t it? (but I’m forgetting if it’s the actual *climax* of the film or earlier before battle). And the mother thinking of her son (is there a montage of childhood photos, or just the image of him in the crib?) before seeing him on crutches (?–again, am I imagining things?)– what I recollect is powerful stuff.

    Vidor apparently was quite the “king” of a man in person too; descriptions of him remind me of Visconti. He spent his retirement immersed in trying to solve the Black dahlia case, and James Toback cast him in a film for his gentlemanly demeanor.

    I imagine I would enjoy “Solange” a great deal–I’m envious, actually!

  2. Of your list I only know Bresson’s and Haneke’s films. Both are great, in special The White Ribbon which is, and will be, one of the best european films in this new decade. Other films of your list are write now in mine (a large, large list of films to see).
    Bye and thanks for your comment in previous post.

Leave a Reply

