Women in Horror Recognition Month

Today, my surfing of the blog-o-sphere has brought to my attention a truly wonderful event/project! Hannah Neurotica, creator and editor of Ax Wound: Gender & the Horror Genre, is organizing a “Women in Horror Recognition month”. This February will be the first year the event takes place, and here is hoping it takes off! If you check out their website, they offer many fun and interesting suggestions to help promote different women in the industry. It can be something as simple as hosting a screening or screenings of films made by women filmmakers, or even writing/making/producing your own horror related art.

Personally, I’m undecided as to what I will do exactly. I will probably watch a bunch of horrors, trying especially to seek out some female horror directors. I am actually working on a horror script of my own at the moment, so I guess I’ll continue with that and not let it fall to the wayside like most of my other projects. I’ll see what else I can come up with, and I’m open to suggestions! Spread the word folks!

7 responses to “Women in Horror Recognition Month

  1. Did you see Jennifer’s Body? I would be curious to see what you thought of it. According to the press, there were themes of feminine empowerment throughout, though to be honest I had a hard time seeing any of it.

  2. Dan, for some reason your comments have been landing in my spam, hopefully that doesn’t happen again and I apologize for the comment delay. I did see Jennifer’s Body and didn’t think too highly of it. I think it had potential to deal with feminine empowerment but failed miserably because the writing was just so terrible. Still, even empowerment seems like a bit of a stretch… are any horror films truly empowering? I don’t think so, some come close, but strength is often exercised through violence or traditional moral values (i.e. the virgin who survives or wins virtuously). I don’t really see horror as a genre that is flexible for those kind of ideas, though I would like to be proved wrong.

  3. I think I like your sceptical attitude towards empowerment from horror films; actually, courtesy of my Philosophy Chair, I’ve long been sceptical of the whole concept of “empowerment”, which seems dangerously flakey.

    Since horror, like tragedy, deals with human beings bent over the rack by forces (usually and largely) out of their control, I’m not sure there’s any humanistic sense to be wrung out of any kind of ‘power’ the characters might achieve– bare survival constitutes victory, and even then it’s often (traditionally) ambiguous whether the Evil has truly been vanquished.

    I’ve often felt the very closing shots of Suspiria (I think there are three of these, as Suzy flees out the door of the Tanner Academy, followed by cuts to two more shots of her standing in the rain and then moving on, before the final cut to the fiery shot/s of the burning school over which the final credits roll– I’ve seen the film with 2 slightly different sets of credits and different scoring, btw, with maybe a variant cut of the burning school thrown in, but the preceding shots till the credits roll are consistent]– to have an awesome cathartic quality, a kind of purifying release that I feel is oddly a bit Alice in Wonderland-esque: as if to say, Suzy finally smiles and shuffles on in the rain with that kind of gleeful, oddly halting walk I think she has, because she is finally released from having to *deal* with all those madpeople! Though it is dark and raining and fiery, one feels that she has freed herself from the Gothic madhouse and can now lead her life in ease.

    If that is “empowerment”, then I will allow Suspiria to be “empowering”– except I find the very word “empowerment” embarassing!

Leave a Reply

