Director Top Five: Jean-Luc Godard

# of films seen: 9
Top priority
Une femme mariée (1964)
Sauve qui peut (la vie) (1980)
Nouvelle Vague (1990)
Made in U.S.A. (1966)
2 or 3 choses que je sais d’elle (1967)
Top Five
1
1. Band of Outsiders (1964)
a Jean-Luc Godard My Life to Live Vivre sa vie DVD Review PDVD_017
2. Vivre sa vie (1962)
us-1.09.17
3. Contempt (1963)
jea
4. Masculin Feminin (1966)
960_pierrot_le_fou_blu-ray_3x
5. Pierrot le fou (1965)


10 responses to “Director Top Five: Jean-Luc Godard

  1. You’ve only seen 9??? You ought to reserve judgment, I think. JLG has such a rich filmography! Who knows, you may actually hate him.

    P.S. JLG is awesome. See his post-80s work.

  2. PS JLG is awesome. Check out his post-80s stuff! Especially 98-2004 era – Histoire(s) du cinéma, Origins of the 21st Century, Éloge de l’amour, Notre musique… some of his best (and most beautiful) stuff; also more accessible than anything else he did post-68.

  3. I just rented 2 or 3 things, so I’m good for that, but I may take you up on Made in the USA. Looks so pop arty, looking forward to it.

    I have Histoire(s) but it’s so daunting I’ve never tackled it. I’ve been mostly afraid of his post New Wave work.

  4. Just watched “2 or 3 Things…” recently and I think it’s magnificent. I too am behind on my Godard (Only 7 for me!), but the films I’ve seen from him, all from the 60s were so ahead of all the other films made at that time. He is great and I can’t wait to see more of his films.

  5. Godard is THE great director. There’s just no one else who comes close to matching his genius. 2 or 3 Things and A Married Woman are my personal favorites of the 60s work, along with Masculin feminin and the underappreciated Alphaville. But as others have said, his post-60s work is amazing and, in my opinion, represents his true accomplishment. Check out First Name: Carmen, Hail Mary, King Lear and Notre musique for the best of his 80s/90s work: poetic, spiritual, multi-layered and aesthetically sui generis. Of course, the Histoire(s) du cinema and its related body of work — including the wonderful short On the Origin of the 21st Century — is amazing as well, and much more accessible and entertaining than most people assume. Don’t approach it as some dreary essay; like all of JLG’s work, it’s playful, allusive, and overflowing with meanings and ideas. Always approach Godard with an open mind and a willingness to be confused.

  6. I really need to get around to those movies :/ So many! Why are they so scary? I’m open minded I think, I’m open to new things, I’m open to being excited. I want to be excited by Godard.

    My favourite teacher of all time thought he was the greatest director of all time.

Leave a Reply

