Underrated Screen Beauties; Nadia Sibirskaïa

3006f4image.qtuh5fvo

brumesdautomne

menilmontant7

vlcsnap-2882584

I wish I could find more images. Menilmontant (1926) is necessary viewing to understand the true scope of her beauty, the film is excellent beyond that too, so even if you’re not convinced see it anyway.

3 responses to “Underrated Screen Beauties; Nadia Sibirskaïa

  1. Menilmontant really is a startling, wonderful movie, saying so much without a word of text. The narrative is clear but also somehow gauzy because of the lack of titles; we have to fill in the blanks. And the images, including all the beautiful closeups of the two lead actresses, are stunning. I love it.

  2. I recognized the shots from Menilmontant. That really is a great short film, and I was also impressed by her performance.

  3. Ed: It is! One of my favourites, the opening scene is terrifying, the parents remind me of zombies from horror films. The lead actresses are beautiful and wonderful, an absolutely stunnign films.

    AR: It’s one of the best! I rewatched it in class this week, and our teacher told us that at the time of it’s release, they said that Nadia was likened to Lillian Gish. I see it.

Leave a Reply

