Best Films I saw in July

As always, only first time viewings. and presented in alphabetical order I didn’t see TOO much this month, but I’m pretty satified with the quality.

shot0002pngqs8

Claire’s Knee (1976)

THE HURT LOCKER

Hurt Locker (2009)

love-exposure2

Love Exposure (2009)

5tk7

La Collectionneuse (1967)

trickrtreatpic1big Trick’ R Treat (2009)

12 responses to “Best Films I saw in July

  1. Oh my secret shame: I’ve still never seen Claire’s Knee. Probably the most important (almost certainly: the film that would most ravish me and mesh with my whole aesthetic) film still left unseen by me. That and Russian Ark . . . and Mirror. Or maybe Nostalghia. Hmm. But yes, the one I would target first.

    Did you hit the whole Contes Moreaux series or just LGdC and La Collectionneuse?

    I have wasted an entire evening–and much of the morning!- thanks to my invite to flickchart (?? or what is it called?) where I’ve been fatiguingly choosing Better No 1 or Better No 2 all night. So much uselessness, and yet: I’ve discovered some precious things. Like, I can’t turn Annie Hall out for anything, except Manhattan and Barry Lyndon [among 1970s Eng. language cinema]. I didn’t know that about myself! I seem to make normative decisions, like: I’d rather watch Woody and Diane than the zombies at the mall. Even though I LOVE watching those damn zombies at the mall . . .

    If silly old ymdb decides to exist again, this could become useful.

  2. Jason: If you knew some of the famous films I haven’t seen, yo umight have a coronary, so I won’t rag on you for missing out on Rohmer! You might like his work though, so check it out sometime!

    No, I haven’t seen the whole series yet. Only those two and My Night at Maud’s. I’m seeing one every other week or so. Seems like a good pace.

    Yea, flickchart is crazy addictive!

    BEAR:! !!!

    Neil: I really appreciate the gesture, thank you 🙂

  3. I’ve seen your 100 films you haven’t seen list, remember! . . . but you’re still way ahead of the game.

    I love Rohmer (la Collectionneuse and Les Nuits de la Pleine Lune are both perennials on my top 10–at least one if not both) and I’m sure Claire, L’Amour l’apres midi and Pauline a la plage, Romance of Astrea and Celadon, will all give me a coronary of delight.

  4. As much as I like Claire’s Knee (and it is a lovely knee if memory serves…), I would likely rank My Night At Maud’s and Chloe In The Afternoon ahead of it. Suffice it to say – I really need/want to see more Rohmer.

    I’m terribly jealous of you for having seen Love Exposure. I hope it hits Toronto (filmfest maybe?). I’ll be seeing Trick ‘R Treat in just over a week at the After Dark film festival and I’m really looking forward to it. Have you seen its IMDB score? A whopping 9.3! Granted there’s only been ~500 votes, but still…

  5. Bob: Having seen My Night at Maud’s, I actually think Id’ rank it behind both Collectionneuse and Claire’s Knee. I think the first half is brilliant, but it falters somewhat, or perhaps I faltered, with the second half.

    I don’t think it’s listed on the TFF schedule unfortunately 😦 Hopefully you might be able to see it at some point though. So many great films that will be playing though, that won’t see the light of day in Montreal, at least not for a long time. Namely Bright Star or Broken Flowers. I didn’t see that, but impressive! Hopefully it doesn’t raise people’s expectations TOO high. It’s pretty awesome though,

Leave a Reply

