Ladies and Gentlemen… Mr. Leonard Cohen (1965)

The National Film Board of Canada website has finally added one of my favourite of their films, a short documentary “in the life” of Leonard Cohen. You should watch it! Learn about my favourite artist and city.

leonardcohen1969

Click the image  to go to their website.

In the meantime, tell me your favourite Leonard Cohen song!

22 responses to “Ladies and Gentlemen… Mr. Leonard Cohen (1965)

  1. Leonard Cohen is such an extraordinary artist, I remember my dad brought one of his albums and I listened to him for the first time. “Suzanne” is probably my favorite Cohen song.

  2. Agreed, probably my very favourite. I adore his music and work, I can’t wait to watch his Concert in London. I have it on tape, but I might just buy the dvd.

    Suzanne is a great song, it’s not my favourite, but I find even his most overplayed songs are incredible. I can’t even think of any I dislike. From Suzanne, I especially love the passage;

    And jesus was a sailor
    When he walked upon the water
    And he spent a long time watching
    From his lonely wooden tower
    And when he knew for certain
    Only drowning men could see him
    He said all men will be sailors then
    Until the sea shall free them
    But he himself was broken
    Long before the sky would open
    Forsaken, almost human
    He sank beneath your wisdom like a stone

  3. Ladies and Gentlemen…Mr. Al Pacino.

    i mean seriously, it’s uncanny.

    oh, and, erm, his songs were used perfectly in McCabe & Mrs. Miller.

  4. oh, and favorite song! “The Stranger Song,” of course, while we’re talking about McCabe.

    Watchmen ruined Halelujah for me, and everyone else I’m sure.

  5. He looks like Pacino and Hoffman, it’s kinda eerie… but he has a friendlier face, I think he aged better than both.

    They worked amazingly well in McCabe and Mrs. Miller, it’s almost as if they were written just for the movie. Perfect match.

    That’s one of my very favourite of his, so great choice 😀 Seriously, gives me chills.

    Damn WATCHMEN!!!!

  6. I like “Memories” and “Don’t Go Home with Your Hard-On” from the underrated Death of a Ladies’ Man album. I like most of that one, actually.

  7. GM: You name an album of his I’m hardly familiar with so I can’t even comment on it ! I guess this is a good opportunity to break it out and give it a listen.

  8. It’s not a perfect album (and apparently Mr. Cohen isn’t very fond of it) but I always enjoy it whenever I put it on. And I’d be surprised if “Memories” couldn’t conjure a little smile out of anyone. I hope you’ll let us know what you think.

  9. The opening to that film reminded me of Woody Allen’s stand-up.

    ‘Teachers’ and ‘One of us cannot be wrong’ are two of the most devastating songs I’ve ever had the pleasure to hear.

  10. When I was in Montreal in late January I apparently passed by his house. I was surprised because I thought he lived in Tibet or something. Anyway I think I only have his first 3 albums or something, favourite song… maybe So Long Marianne, or Suzanne, I’m boring.

  11. Oh and McCabe and Mrs. Miller was my first DVD purchase after I got my credit card a week ago. That and The Long Goodbye. ALTMAN. The greatest.

  12. God’s shoeshine: I love those two, Teachers especially. Lovely.

    DG: I don’t think he lives in Montreal, though he has a house, I think some family are still living here though. I think his “home” is in LA at the moment, he used to live in Greece too. You are very boring :p

    I love those two ❤ Among my favourites.

    Simon: :/ I’ve yet to see an Altman I dislike. Tut tut. Nashville?

  13. haven’t seen it. It’s one of my most egregious not-yet-seens, but just based on my loathing of country music and my loathing of Altman-esque technique and characters in any movie not called The Long Goodbye or McCabe & Mrs. Miller, it ain’t gonna happen any time soon.

    And I even used to like MASH, but something just snapped in my brain one day and I just became absolutely irritated with it. Weird :-/

  14. I don’t think hating country music should stand in the way of watching Nashville. The music is part of a whole fabric of life (tied in with politics, family, sex, the whole bit) and Nashville’s strength is in portraying all that. See it as an anthropological document, if nothing else.

    Man, Altman IS the greatest. I’m gonna do rewatches of Long Goodbye, McCabe and Mrs. Miller and Nashville soon… it’s gonna happen.

  15. Richard: I’m happy you’re getting into some of his poetry, ever read Beautiful Losers? One of my very favourite novels.

    Alexander: Another favourite of mine, I think it’s the first song of his that I heard of his that made me realise he had some more romantic work. One that really got me to listen to the rest of his music

  16. i need to finish that one, definitely a read requiring the slow attention that i didn’t give, but thank you for the mention of it. as for his music, i think the last cohen song i kept listening and listening to, the butcher; i favor everything on songs of love and hate

  17. I saw Leonard at Radio City on Sunday night. It was the most awesome performance I have ever seen, felt. Unforgettable. My favourite isn’t really a song…it’s the poem, “For those who comforted me”, from which the song ‘1000 kisses deep’ was derived. He performed it on Sunday…there wasn’t a dry eye in the House.

  18. I have loved Leonard way back in the seventies when I was a young teenager. I listened to him in the dark and I was transposed forever, even when I hardly understood him; there is a truth and purity that prevails throughout all his songs/poems. I love Joan of Arc and the Sisters of Mercy, Bird on a Wire ..the list keeps getting bigger, but really he enchants me always.

Leave a Reply

