Song (“I almost went to bed …”) by Leonard Cohen

I almost went to bed
without remembering
the four white violets
I put in the button-hole
of your green sweater

and how i kissed you then
and you kissed me
shy as though I’d
never been your lover

from “The Spice-Box of Earth”

5 responses to “Song (“I almost went to bed …”) by Leonard Cohen

  1. Beautiful.

    One of my all time favourites.

    And I second that comment by Simon M. I’ve never seen an audience squirm that much with embarrassment in my entire life. Woeful.

  2. I saw Watchmen opening night, I’m well aware of the travesty. It was just embarassing, and I think here in Montreal, you have a larger amount of people familiar with Cohen… I’m just guessing the audience reaction which was very vocal played into that. It was probably the worst scene of the film.

  3. first glance read: Song (I almost wet the bed)

    Is Spice-Box any good? I’ve only read his novels; which are great, and Book of Longing; which I was less impressed with.

  4. Heh.

    I like it, though I am a Cohen fan-girl… I also really love Book of Longing. It certainly wouldn’t hurt to borrow it from the library.

Leave a Reply

