Another Infield Quiz

I don’t think I could have asked for a better post-Christmas present, I’ve been checking Sergio Leone and the Infield  Rule for weeks now, wondering when the next quiz would come.  Luckily I got my wish yesterday, when I checked again! Here are my answers;

I’ve been checking your blog a few times a week for at least a month waiting for the next quiz, one of the best after Christmas presents I could ask for.

1) What was the last movie you saw theatrically? On DVD or Blu-ray?
The last film I saw theatrically was Doubt, a decent enough film, but lackluster filmmaking and not particularly remarkable or memorable. Amy Adams is the definete highlight, and really it’s about nuns… how bad can it be? On DVD, the last thing I watched was Towelhead. I reviewed it in depth, but my writing is more positive than my opinion of the film. The more I think of it, the more my opinion fades. It’s pretty reductionist and not all that interesting.

meet

2) Holiday movies— Do you like them naughty or nice?
Nice I suppose! I don’t think I’ve seen too many of the naughty ones though. My favourites are probably It’s a Wonderful Life, Meet Me in St. Louis and Little Women (1933). One year I’d like to see Le Pere Noel est une Ordure though, they play it in theatres every year before Christmas. Maybe next year I’ll go.

3) Ida Lupino or Mercedes McCambridge?
Ida Lupino, I’ve seen more than a few Mercedes McCambridge’s films, but I don’t remember her. I’m a pretty big fan of Lupino though, I especially love her in On Dangerous Ground alongside Robert Ryan. Such a tender and beautiful film, easily her best performance. She’s still a great femme fatale, unusual and alluring.

4) Favorite actor/character from Twin Peaks
Have yet to see it, but Sherilyn Fenn is sexy.

5) It’s been said that, rather than remaking beloved, respected films, Hollywood should concentrate more on righting the wrongs of the past and tinker more with films that didn’t work so well the first time. Pretending for a moment that movies are made in an economic vacuum, name a good candidate for a remake based on this criterion.
Tough question, I’d like to nominate Max Ophuls’ Caught. Though, I suppose it was made more recently as The Aviator sorta. I think it’s an interesting film saved by performances and Ophuls’ style, but the script is terribly lackluster and borderline offensive. It’s indirectly about Howard Hughes, who is an incredibly interesting Hollywood “character” and a failed romance. I like that it focuses very much on one event, and the perspective of his wife. But the writing, especially the ending is just terrible. I think if they were to tweak the script it could be a great romance, or at least, a brilliant characters study. Though, it could easily go awry. Another one I’d like to see redone is Bad Day at Black Rock, which ironically, also features Robert Ryan. I know it has quite a passionate following but I think it skirted a huge amount of it’s potential for suspense and exploring various isms. It has a very strong foundation, but I think in the right hands the material could be brilliant.

6) Favorite Spike Lee joint.
Only seen Do the Right Thing, so that. I really would love to see Jungle Fever though.

7) Lawrence Tierney or Scott Brady?
Lawrence Tierney, if only because he’s sexier.

8) Are most movies too long?
Yes, I prefer shorter movies generally, and I’m especially frustrated by the overlong comedies we have these days. If Woody Allen can go an entire career with only one movies going over 2 hours, I think Judd Apatow could strive to do the same. Trim off 10-20 minutes of nearly any of these films, and you’d have a much stronger product guaranteed. Less is more, especially when it comes to comedy.

w-josh-brolin

9) Favorite performance by an actor portraying a real-life politician.
Brolin in W., partially because it’s the only one I can think of, also because he’s one of my favourite working actors. I’m sure I’ll kick myself when I realise I’m forgetting someone.

10) Create the main event card for the ultimate giant movie monster smackdown.
King Kong vs. Mothra

11) Jean Peters or Sheree North?
I have seen the episodes of Seinfeld with Sheree North, but I’ll be damned if I remember her. Somehow I’ve avoided most of both their work.

12) Why would you ever want or need to see a movie more than once?
Tough question, I was just discussing this last night with a friend. Neither of us really rewatch films, mostly because we are always hungering to see something new. I do revisit old favourites, especially for the nostalgia. Every few years I’ll rewatch some great films that are fading from memory, or to re-evalute my opinion of them. I watched a huge amount of “classic” films when I was quite young, and unfortunately I think I missed out a great deal because of that. I don’t think I was aware enough to really appreciate or understand why they were good, and as they’re often referenced film, I feel the need to see them again to hold my own in discussions and conversations.

13) Favorite road movie.
Tough question, I’m not sure how many I’ve seen. I think I’ll go with Gun Crazy/Bonnie and Clyde, nearly identical formulas about bank robbers constantly on the drive. Both are so visceral, and the road aspect reflects the youthful restfullness and recklessness that they both embody.

bonnie-and-clyde-se-pdvd_019

14) Favorite Budd Boetticher picture.
Been the highest priority for a while

15) Who is the one person, living or dead, famous or unknown, who most informed or encouraged your appreciation of movies?
My father maybe, he was always a huge film fan and exposed me to some great films at quite an early age. He’s one of the few people I can really discuss film with, and I am thankful that he encourages me, instead of pushing me into a career or a passion that is more “reasonable”. I’d also probably choose one of my teachers, let’s call him Phil, who taught me more about making movies than anyone else I’ve ever met.

16) Favorite opening credit sequence. (Please include YouTube link if possible.)
Choosing just one seems an impossible task! Of course I love Touch of Evil, it’s simply divine. Touch of Evil? Not really a credit sequence I suppose. I was also going to signal out the absurd but brilliant Palm Beach Story, but it’s not really credits. It’s hard to go wrong with Saul Bass, so I’ll go with Anatomy of a Murder, with the disjointed body parts and Duke Ellington music.

bassanatomy

17) Kenneth Tobey or John Agar?
He Walked by Night vs. She Wore a Yellow Ribbon. The latter wins.

18) Jean-Luc Godard once suggested that the more popular the movie, the less likely it was that it was a good movie. Is he right or just cranky? Cite the best evidence one way or the other.
Tough question, there is something to it, but it’s still pretty reductionist. If we want to look at film popularity by financial success, he might have a point… just lookin at the ten highest grossing films of last year;

1 Spider-Man 3
2 Shrek the Third
3 Transformers
4 Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End
5 Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
6 I Am Legend
7 The Bourne Ultimatum
8 National Treasure: Book of Secrets
9 Alvin and the Chipmunks

The only good movie of the bunch of The Bourne Ultimatum. I think by nature, films that achieve popularity have a wide appeal that are rarely too challenging, and considering Godard’s preference for critisism, they are not only safe but I’m sure borderline offensive in most cases. I think it’s unfair to expect of others the same passion and desire for cinema, but one could hope that once in a while more people would be able to go out and see a truly great, beautifully made and perhaps even thought provoking film. Even that though, is not a recipe for “greatness”. All the words are so vague, I’m not sure how to really answer it.

19) Favorite Jonathan Demme movie.
The Silence of the Lambs, though Rachel Getting Married certainly gives it a run for it’s money. I love Jodie Foster and the simple drama and psychology of The Silence of the Lambs. It’s extremely effective, and a film I can watch often and still get a kick out of. The last few scenes are so incredibly suspenceful too.

20) Tatum O’Neal or Linda Blair?
Linda Blair!

21) Favorite use of irony in a movie. (This could be an idea, moment, scene, or an entire film.)
Casablanca has so many beautiful ironic moments, I can’t choose one.

22) Favorite Claude Chabrol film.
La Ceremonie, though I haven’t seen much of his work. I love the commoderie and playfullness. The characters are so much like teenage girls, which makes their brutality all the more frightening. I’ll be seeing The Girl Cut in Half soon, and hopefully some other of his films. I’m quite fond of him.

23) The best movie of the year to which very little attention seems to have been paid.
The Duchess

24) Dennis Christopher or Robby Benson?
Dennis Christopher has such an impressive television resume that I can’t help choosing him. Deadwood? Angel? Six Feet Under? I love this guy.

25) Favorite movie about journalism.
Too many, I love Ace in the Hole, Good night and good luck and Zodiac. I think I might lean to Good Night and Good Luck, only because it really is a tribute to the art and tact of journalism itself. Showing the potential power one man can have in the field, and how he can use it for the betterment of his country. It seems to be a commentary on the fast paced and mostly uninvolving journalism that goes on now, a tribute to an art that seems to be lost, but perhaps shouldn’t be.

good-night-and-good-luck-2005-11-g

26) What’s the DVD commentary you’d most like to hear? Who would be on the audio track?
Another really difficult question, what I wouldn’t give to hear Truffaut talk about any number of films or someone like Bette Davis. Maybe a Crawford/Davis track for Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?

27) Favorite movie directed by Clint Eastwood.
Unforgiven

28) Paul Dooley or Kurtwood Smith?
Kurtwood Smith, for being on one of my favourite episodes of The X-Files.

29) Your clairvoyant moment: Make a prediction about the Oscar season.
If Waltz with Bashir (2008) doesn’t win the best foreign film award, a film from France will.

30) Your hope for the movies in 2009.
That they will be good, also that maybe they space out the good releases throughout the year so I don’t have to wait until the last two weeks of December to see everything I want.

31) What’s your top 10 of 2008? (If you have a blog and have your list posted, please feel free to leave a link to the post.)
Still a work in progress, I hope to see a lot more and unveil a complete list in February or March
Un conte de Noël
Vicky Christina Barcelona
Let the Right One In
Happy-Go-Lucky
Rachel Getting Married
Wall-E
The Duchess
In Bruges
Boogie Man: The Lee Atwater Story
The Dark Knight

BONUS QUESTION

32) What was your favorite movie-related Christmas gift that you received this year?
The whole family got a new TV!

un-conte-de-noel-18-g

6 responses to “Another Infield Quiz

  1. 1) What was the last movie you saw theatrically? On DVD or Blu-ray?The Last film I saw theatrically was “Seven Pounds”, and the last movie I saw on DVD was Mizoguchi’s “Sisters of the Gion

    2) Holiday movies— Do you like them naughty or nice?I like both, but at Christmas it’s always the nice ones like “It’s a Wonderful Life” and “The Shop Around the Corner. My brother on the other hand adores “Die Hard”

    3) Ida Lupino or Mercedes McCambridge?Ida Lupino since she was also a director

    4) Favorite actor/character from Twin Peaks. It has to be Agent Dale Cooper, and even though she’s dead in it most of the time I love the mystery that surrounds Laura Palmer.

    5) It’s been said that, rather than remaking beloved, respected films, Hollywood should concentrate more on righting the wrongs of the past and tinker more with films that didn’t work so well the first time. Pretending for a moment that movies are made in an economic vacuum, name a good candidate for a remake based on this criterion. This is a hard question since especially since I like so many classics, even the imperfect ones. Recently I just watched “The Return of Doctor X” with Humphrey Bogart playing a mad scientist. I found myself enjoying the campiness of it, and I liked the concept of having the two heroes being a news reporter and a scientist. The concept had promise and perhaps it could’ve been something more if it was done right.

    6) Favorite Spike Lee joint.”Do the Right Thing” is one of my favorites of all time, but I also appreciate “Malcolm X”

    7) Lawrence Tierney or Scott Brady?Lawrence Tierney not only for the movies he was in, but also because he was on “Seinfeld” and “The Simpsons”

    8)Are most movies too long?Yes especially now. More often than ever, I find myself looking at my watch even when I think a film is good, thinking it should’ve ended by now.

    9) Favorite performance by an actor portraying a real-life politician. I enjoyed both Henry Fonda and Raymond Massey as Abraham Lincoln

    10) Create the main event card for the ultimate giant movie monster smackdown. King Kong (1933) vs. King Kong (2005).

    Jean Peters or Sheree North?I can’t say I’m familiar with either of their work.

    12) Why would you ever want or need to see a movie more than once?One instance for me might be because I didn’t feel like I saw the whole movie the first time, such as “No Country for Old Men” which I saw in the theatre three times. Another reason might be I just love it so much I want to revisit just to be a part of that world again. This reason usually applies for almost any Fred Astaire/Ginger Rogers movie

    13) Favorite road movie.”It Happened One Night”

    14) Favorite Budd Boetticher picture.I swear I’ll get around to him soon.

    15) Who is the one person, living or dead, famous or unknown, who most informed or encouraged your appreciation of movies?I always wonder this. I can’t remember just why I came to love films. It was probably my love of Jimmy Stewart who brought me to directors of Frank Capra, Alfred Hitchcock, John Ford, Billy Wilder, Anthony Mann, and Ernst Lubitsch. Spielberg films influenced me as a child and reading more about his influences got me interested about the French New Wave, and Kurosawa. Reading film critics like Roger Ebert and Leonard Maltin also had a strong influence on me. It was my father however who introduced me to Clint Eastwood and Steve McQueen movies, and my mother who introduced me to Audrey Hepburn. All these things combined made me love movies.

    16) Favorite opening credit sequence. I love anything by Saul Bass, but “Vertigo” would have to be my absolute favorite. I also love Rosie Perez’ shadow boxing at the beginning of “Do the Right Thing”

    17) Kenneth Tobey or John Agar?Once again I’m not familiar enough with their work.

    18) Jean-Luc Godard once suggested that the more popular the movie, the less likely it was that it was a good movie. Is he right or just cranky? Cite the best evidence one way or the other. It’s a bit unfair for Godard to say that, although I can certainly understand why he would say it. Spielberg films are probably the best example that a popular film can be good, although I did hear a quote saying Godard wasn’t the biggest fan of Spielberg. Many of Spielberg’s blockbusters such as “Jaws”, “Close Encounters of the Third Kind”, and “E.T.” are all popular and even though some might not agree they’re good, they do exemplified the work of an auteur. However an individual like Spielberg doesn’t come around too often, and I would say many of the popular movies now do tend to be too formulaic.

    19) Favorite Jonathan Demme movie.While I love “The Silence of the Lambs”, Demme’s other work seems to be overshadowed too much. So I’m going to say “Rachel Getting Married”. I’m just dying to see “Stop Making Sense” though.

    20) Tatum O’Neal or Linda Blair?Tough choice, Tatum O’Neal because she worked with Walter Matthau and Madeline Kahn

    21) Favorite use of irony in a movie. Because I’m revisiting Lubitsch films this month, I’ll go with the first scene between Miriam Hopkins and Herbert Marshall in “Trouble in Paradise”

    22) Favorite Claude Chabrol film.I’m embarrassed to say I have not seen one of his films. Please don’t hate me.

    23) The best movie of the year to which very little attention seems to have been paid.”My Winnipeg”

    24) Dennis Christopher or Robby Benson? Although I’m familiar with a little of their work I cannot say I’m familiar enough to truly give a good opinion.

    25) Favorite movie about journalism.Good question. “All the Presidents Men” has always remained a favorite of mine. But I’ll go with “His Girl Friday” because I love it sooooo much.

    26) What’s the DVD commentary you’d most like to hear? Who would be on the audio track?If the Marx Brothers were alive I would love to hear audio commentary from them. I enjoy Roger Ebert’s audio commentary and wish he could do more. I would also like to hear Steven Spielberg do commentary since he never does them. But “The Marx Brothers” would be there just for entertainment value, plus just to see if Harpo would say anything.

    27) Favorite movie directed by Clint Eastwood. Unforgiven

    28) Paul Dooley or Kurtwood Smith?Kurtwood Smith

    29) Your clairvoyant moment: Make a prediction about the Oscar season.No offense to Hugh Jackman, but it won’t be as funny.

    30) Your hope for the movies in 2009.I would agree with House of Mirth and spread the movies out more so we don’t get a bunch all at once at the end of the year. I would also hope that an arthouse movie theatre will open in Red Deer, otherwise I will have to move. Finger crossed.

    31) What’s your top 10 of 2008? (If you have a blog and have your list posted, please feel free to leave a link to the post.)Also a work in progress since I won’t see many 2008 films until after the new year. So here are a few titles (alphabetically) that I would consider.

    Burn After Reading
    The Dark Knight
    The Fall
    The Flight of the Red Balloon
    Happy Go-Lucky
    In Bruges
    Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
    My Winnipeg
    Rachel Getting Married
    Wall-E

    BONUS QUESTION
    32) What was your favorite movie-related Christmas gift that you received this year? My new “Casablanca” box set (It’s like the fifth copy of the movie I’ve owned but I do not care) plus the criterion collection copy of “The Fallen Idol” which I have never seen.

  2. 1) What was the last movie you saw theatrically? On DVD or Blu-ray? Theaters: The Dark Knight, though I’m seeing either Doubt or Frost/Nixon later today; DVD: Fanny and Alexander (yes, the 5 hour version) last night

    2) Holiday movies— Do you like them naughty or nice? I don’t celebrate Christmas, so do I even apply? 😛 But I guess It’s a Wonderful Life and Fanny and Alexander count, so…nice?

    3) Ida Lupino or Mercedes McCambridge? McCambridge, especially as the voice of the demon in The Exorcist. Yum.

    4) Favorite actor/character from Twin Peaks. Coop’s complete asshole of a partner, Agent Rosenfeld.

    5) It’s been said that, rather than remaking beloved, respected films, Hollywood should concentrate more on righting the wrongs of the past and tinker more with films that didn’t work so well the first time. Pretending for a moment that movies are made in an economic vacuum, name a good candidate for a remake based on this criterion. First thing that came to mind was Bergman’s Persona – get rid of that cockamamie opening with the camera and the giant eyeballs and shit and concentrate more on the characters themselves instead of stifling isolation, and maybe I’ll actually give a damn this time.

    6) Favorite Spike Lee joint. ”Do the Right Thing.” Not just Spike’s masterpiece, but A masterpiece by any criteria.

    7) Lawrence Tierney or Scott Brady? Tierney. SO awesome in Reservoir Dogs.

    8)Are most movies too long? Probably. Some movies pull it off, like the previously-mentioned Fanny and Alexander, but we’re seeing a lot more so-called “epics” nowadays that feel they’re obligated to be 3+ hours long just ‘cuz they have lots of blank characters and special effects. case-in-point, those Pirates of the Caribbean movies.

    9) Favorite performance by an actor portraying a real-life politician. Anthony Hopkins as Richard Nixon. Doesn’t look or sound like Nixon in the least, but he’s so awesome and compelling in the role anyway that you’re absorbed.

    10) Create the main event card for the ultimate giant movie monster smackdown. King Kong vs. the 50 foot woman

    11) Jean Peters or Sheree North? Peters couldn’t act to save her life, but she achieves a kind of uber-sexy sultriness in Pickup on South Street (especially on that hot subway as Richard Widmark is pickpocketing her…and her face tells you that she KNOWS, and might even be turned on by it) that makes up for any lack of talent.

    12) Why would you ever want or need to see a movie more than once? I rewatch movies all the time. Is it really that strange a habit? I had no idea 😆 Could be nostalgia (I’ve probably seen Star Wars AT LEAST 20-30 times), could be to pick up on stuff I missed, could just be ‘cuz I really like it. Sue me 😆

    13) Favorite road movie. Apocalypse Now is a river movie, does that count?

    14) Favorite Budd Boetticher picture. who? 😕

    15) Who is the one person, living or dead, famous or unknown, who most informed or encouraged your appreciation of movies? I guess Kurosawa was the first filmmaker that REALLY opened the gateway for me into the world of serious cinema…I would say filmmakers like Spielberg who made so many great films of my youth, but they were influenced by Kurosawa anyway, so I’ll go with him 😛

    16) Favorite opening credit sequence. Two come to mind: Vertigo, and The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly.

    17) Kenneth Tobey or John Agar? Again, who? 😕

    18) Jean-Luc Godard once suggested that the more popular the movie, the less likely it was that it was a good movie. Is he right or just cranky? Cite the best evidence one way or the other. This is kind of an unfair criticism (The Dark Knight and Star Wars and Raiders of the Lost Ark immediately comes to mind as great movies that happened to be popular as hell), but more often than not, Mr. Jean-Luc is probably right…most people don’t want to pay 10 bucks to sit in a movie theater to think or feel enlightened…they want escapism, to NOT think, and that’s where shitty blockbusters come in.

    19) Favorite Jonathan Demme movie. Silence of the Lambs, of course.

    20) Tatum O’Neal or Linda Blair? Linda Blair was a one-film wonder…but it was one hell of a demanding role, so her.

    21) Favorite use of irony in a movie. Justine reminded me of the perfect one in her original post:

    “I’m shocked sir, shocked, that there’s gambling in this establishment.”
    “Your winnings, sir.”
    “Oh yes, thank you very much.”

    22) Favorite Claude Chabrol film. See my answers to #’s 14 and 17.

    23) The best movie of the year to which very little attention seems to have been paid. Let the Right One In

    24) Dennis Christopher or Robby Benson? See 14, 17, and 22. I really need to expand my horizons 😛

    25) Favorite movie about journalism.Good question. Ace in the Hole.

    26) What’s the DVD commentary you’d most like to hear? Who would be on the audio track? It’s said that Steven Spielberg had a one-on-one private screening and conversation with David Lean while watching Lawrence of Arabia when it was first restored. What I wouldn’t give to listen to THAT as a commentary track. But more realistically, P.T. Anderson’s mile-a-minute mouth was built for commentary tracks, and his track for Boogie Nights was excellent. Commentary tracks by him on Magnolia and There Will Be Blood would be AWESOME. As for best track I’ve already listened to, that’s gotta go to Bruce Campbell and Sam Raimi on Evil Dead II. So much fun to listen to 😆

    27) Favorite movie directed by Clint Eastwood. Unforgiven

    28) Paul Dooley or Kurtwood Smith? I don’t really get the connection? Kurtwood Smith was pretty sleazy as the villains in Robocop and Fortress, so him I guess…

    29) Your clairvoyant moment: Make a prediction about the Oscar season. Mickey Rourke and Heath Ledger will win actor and supporting actor.

    30) Your hope for the movies in 2009. Hell, I’m just hoping (probably futilely) that The Road is as good as the book. After that it’s all fair game.

    31) What’s your top 10 of 2008?
    WALL-E
    The Dark Knight
    Let the Right One In
    Iron Man
    Tropic Thunder
    Indiana Jones and…yeah
    Cloverfield
    Harold and Kumar
    The Happening

    (1 through 3 are bonafide great movies worthy of a year’s top 10, the rest…filler, pretty much. I didn’t see much this year 😦 )

    BONUS QUESTION
    32) What was your favorite movie-related Christmas gift that you received this year? I don’t celebrate Christmas 😆 …but, The Dark Knight?

  3. Hi, all! Thanks for linking to the quiz and especially for participating!

    I probably will do so again in my own answers post, but just since I have a minute or two, the connection between Paul Dooley and Kurtwood Smith that I was thinking of was their roles as overbearing fathers in Breaking Away and Dead Poets Society. Of course, the answer won’t be (probably shouldn’t be) based on those roles exclusively, although it may factor in. I was just looking for a connection, a reason to put the two names together. Merry Christmas!

  4. I haven’t seen Breaking Away or the Dead Poet’s Society, so it makes sense that I didn’t make the connection. I look forward to seeing your answers, and the next quiz. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 🙂

  5. Speaking of a top ten: has Rohmer’s swan song made it to your neck of the woods yet?

    Also– what is this chick with the glasses on the edge of her nose from?!?

Leave a Reply

