Life and Google

Though I fear that Google will one day be our tyrannical leaders (which isn’t bad… I for one welcome and bow down to their supreme powers), they’ve made my life better and easier over the years. Their most recent great act? Collaborating with Life magazine to bring an archive of over one million photos, many of which were never published, to the web. I LOVE photography, and could browse for hours, here are a few favourites I found (all film related to stay on topic). May you waste as many hours as I have,

b

bete-davis-hair

christ

d

deneuve2

denuev2

e

faye3

grace

lombard

mia

mia2

moray2

orson

wood

13 responses to “Life and Google

  1. It is isn’t it Josh 😀

    It’s actually Fredric March, it is a great shot though. He has a great face. I actually didn’t look up Bunuel, I wonder if they have awesome photos of him!

  2. Haha, maybe I should feel bad for mistaking March for Buñuel but they both look so weird/awesome that it’s not so bad… at any rate that is a really great shot. Do you know who took it?

  3. I was flipping through Robert Vaughn’s autobiography at B&N this weekend and immediately skipped through to see if there were any stories about Steve McQueen. One was a story about McQueen, Vaughn and seven hookers in Mexico during the shooting of The Magnificent Seven (McQueen told the madame “Were the Magnificent Seven! We need seven girls!”) They tried to skip out without paying the next morning.

    What depressed me was all of Vaughn’s tales of being a womanizer with and without McQueen -even during the 70s. Who in the world found Vaughn sexy then? He was a middle-aged has been! McQueen is fascinating to look at and the photo reminds me how great he looked. Faye Dunaway was smashingly sexy before all the plastic surgery. Two great movie faces.

  4. “One was a story about McQueen, Vaughn and seven hookers in Mexico during the shooting of The Magnificent Seven (McQueen told the madame “Were the Magnificent Seven! We need seven girls!”)”

    that….is AWESOME 😆

  5. Steve-O, I think the perks of being a star even a minor one, is that people will think you’re more attractive than you are… and besides, these were hookers 😀

    For a few years, Dunaway was the sexiest women in the world. Plastic surgery was unkind 😦

    Thank you for ste stories 🙂

  6. Thanks for the heads-up regarding the Life site. My blog will be the beter for it, I’m sure.

    By the way, nice site. The French films are rare gems; I’m glad to see others are keeping them in mind.

    By the way (X2), I made it to your site because of your comment on Roger Ebert’s site. And the beat goes on …

  7. I don’t even remember commenting on Ebert’s site, if you’d remind me, I’d be forever grateful 😀 It could have been ages ago for all I know.

    I used to have a stack of old life magazines when I was kid, I’d leaf through them constantly. Probably helped born my love of classic Hollywood cinema.

Leave a Reply

