November: The Month of the Musical

As I said I would, I ignored the poll and decided to focus my  viewing attentions  for November on the musical. Once the month starts I’ll have a little more to say about the genre itself, but for now I’m just allerting you what to expect and asking for some recommendations. Obviously, I won’t be able to get to all of them, but it would be nice if someone pointed me in a direction I wasn’t aware of before. Here is a short list of  films I will most likely be seeing:

The Merry Widow (1934)
Strike up the Band (1940)
State Fair (1945)
Yolanda and the Thief (1945)
The Pirate (1948)
Carmen Jones (1954)
It’s Always Fair Weather (1955)
The Pajama Game (1957)
Dancer in the Dark (2000)
Lou Reed’s Berlin (2007)

As you can see, I’m interpreting musical  very loosely to allow concert films, and even documentaries on musicians and music. So be open with your suggestions

21 responses to “November: The Month of the Musical

  1. I don’t believe in democracy 😉 I said outright when I made the poll that I would ignore it! There is some overlap though, I think at least there is some musicals on my I haven’t seen list, and maybe one or two on them TLC one… maybe.

  2. May I suggest…

    Stop Making Sense (1984
    The Happiness of the Katakuris (2001)

    That’s all I’ve got right now. 😦

  3. I’ve never heard of her, but she’s Canadian!

    Any you could recommend? Both Mad About Music and Three Girls Grow Up look great, but I trust your recommendations.

  4. No specific recommendations. They are all pretty much fluffy romantic comedies, usually dealing with the stage in some way. You just have to hear her sing–absolutely effortless power and control. Try one of the films she did with Laughton. It Started with Eve is a good choice.

  5. Honestly, I never had a chance to watch a musical show or film. The only musical film I know was Dream Girls and High school musical. In addition, I only get to watch Dream Girls. I did not even finish it. Anyway, I might consider watching what you have listed.

  6. Watch “Meet Me In St. Louis”, the greatest of all musicals. Gene Kelly thought so, anyway, and Scorsese singled it out as one of the films that most influenced his style as a director.

  7. And, I haven’t seen either one! Strange how that works out. I hope you find a good place to start though.

    Meet Me In St.Louis is one of my favourite musicals (and movies). Probably second only to The Wizard of Oz, and the Red Shoes.

  8. Funny Girl with barbara streisand is fun but musicals in general is a horrible genre, well, Once was also great…but it’s contemporary….

  9. I love musicals! I’ll check out Funny Girl, I’ve seen both Once and Nightmare, not much of a fan of the Burton one, but I do really like the music… strange :p

Leave a Reply

