Kill, Baby, Kill (Bava, 1966)

Mario Bava’s 1966 film, “Kill, Baby, Kill” is an unnerving journey into superstition and the unexplained. A doctor is invited to a small village to perform an autopsy on a woman who died under mysterious circomstances. Though his findings are inconclusive, he finds himself caught in almost an ancient world, where curses exist and fear rules all. What really propels the film is the exciting and offbeat stylish touch. Even before the mysterious nature of the village is revealed, the unconventional colour palette, the strange set design, and the use of an ever moving camera contributes to an increasing sense of displacement in the viewer. Scenes are even edited in a way that further contributes to the strange and uncomfortable atmosphere. I don’t even know what else to say, all I know is, I want to sleep with the lights on and my door locked.

3 responses to “Kill, Baby, Kill (Bava, 1966)

  1. Are you hitting one of those Bava boxed-sets? At any rate, you’re a lucky ducky! (is that the bitchy roommate in “Suspiria” on your current banner, btw?).

    I hope you get to see Argento’s “Inferno”, which I for one think is sensational, completely worthy of “Suspiria” (different somewhat, yet completely complementary). Bava did some 2nd unit work on that too (though not, I believe, the underwater photography as has been erroneously reported). But anyway, a very “personal” film for Argento and a kind of summing-up of that whole Italian tradition in horror. I like to call it (if I haven’t said so already!) ‘a Nancy Drew front-cover at 24 frames per second’– with blood, death, and a Hardy Boy thrown in, that is . . .

  2. It is the bitchy roomate!

    My pal just watched Inferno, he wasn’t quite as fond of it as Suspiria, but he said it was still visually an eyeful. He complained mostly about the score. I’ll still probably end up seeing it, t hough I’m not sure if I’ll be able to fit it in this month as my v ieo store doesn’t have a copy. As for Argento, The Bird with the Crystal Plumage and Deep Red ought to be next.

  3. I hope this doesn’t mean “Suspiria” itself was a disappointment– though its body-count is relatively slender, its sense of omniscient evil certainly afflicts me with, among other things, an all-encompassing sense of dread one could describe as ‘paranoia.’

    Really, “Suspiria” is a bit of a chokehold viewing-experience for me. “Inferno” is more– ‘laid-back’, can we say?– but I hope you’ll give it at least TWO tries before you write it off! Very beautiful and operatic, and the music, though eccentric “prog-rock”, does not get objections from me!

Leave a Reply

