I’m baaaccckkk…

I’m back from vacation, and am finally ready to return to film! After two months of watching films out of habit, rather than passion, a week off has renewed my love and passion for the cinema. Now it’s just a matter to get my writing groove back on. I have a lot of films lying around to see, hopefully one of them is enough to grab me and I’ll have something written in the next week. I’ll even consider requests, so here are the films I have lying around:

An Angel at my Table (1990)
Au revoir, les enfants (1987)
Dancer in the Dark (2000)
Last Year at Marienbad (1961)
Beau Travail (1999)
An American in Paris (1951)
The Taste of Tea (2004)
Bon Voyage (2003)
Les Biches (1968)
Raise the Red Lantern (1991)

Back to the vacation, I really enjoyed myself, despite the weather. Nova Scotia is a beautiful province, and the people are very friendly. I had many photo ops, and here are some of my favourites:

Also, I’ve spent the last few days reading some of my favourite blogs and decided to share some of my favourits posts made in the past 2 or so weeks.

A Film Canon, one of my favourite daily visits, has a beautiful capsule review on one of my favourite films Powell & Pressburger’s Black Narcissus (1948). Consistently informative and well written, A Film Canon offers short reviews that pack in a few words more than I’m usually able to accomplish with a few thousands. It’s also ripe for wonderful recommendations.

Second up, Eternal Sunshine of the Logical Mind goes through a few short reviews of recent viewings. Having Au Revoir, Les Enfants scheduled for the week, I thought I ought to give myself a pre-emptive reminder to check out the review. The real reason I’m highlighting it though, is because two great classic comedies are featured (positively, of course), One, Two, Three and the criminally underseen Midnight. If my recommendation is not enough, perhaps both of ours will do.

Film of the Year is not only one of my favourite reads, but the type of thing I would have probably tackled myself. Though, follow-through has never been my greatest skill, and I don’t think I could conceivably choose just a single film to showcase a year. Though I love the films for 1948, and 1949, I think White Heat is in a league of it’s own as far as gangster/noir pictures go. Cagney has never been more electrifying. It’s worth reading both Ryan’s analysis of The Snake Pit and White Heat back to back though, simply because they both deal with mental illness in some way, though with different results and use within the narrative.

I never  tired of Hitchcock, so I was thrilled to see Polar Bear writing a very lengthy analysis on the climax of North by Northwest. Though far from being one of my favourite Hitchcocks, the film never fails to thrill me. It’s only when you look very closely at Hitchcock’s films, do you realise the painstaking efforts he put into creating his masterworks of suspense.

That’s all for now, there were many articles and reviews that caught my interest, but I’m too tired to go find them now.

10 responses to “I’m baaaccckkk…

  1. I just watched Raise the Red Lantern last week (and wrote a looooong blog entry on it, by the way, that I guess I just shamelessly advertised 😛 ), and it was magnificent. And since it’s the only one on that list of yours i’ve actually seen, guess i’ll recommend that one 😕

  2. You are quite the photographer! ;)The way you wrote this post just makes me feel the passion!
    As for a film to watch, I can’t think of any off hand, though “An American in Paris” seems happy 🙂

  3. You’re too cute for words. I actually don’t think I ahve time for An American in Paris, but they have it at the library on DVD, so I’ll just borrow it 😀

  4. Yay. I missed you. *huggsies*

    I’m glad you had a good time! I’d love to go to Nova Scotia some day. That and Prince Edward Island. Nice pics!

    I just returned Beau Travail today, unwatched. 😦 So may be you should watch it for me!

  5. I really wnat to visit PEI! I think because I used to love L.M. Montgomery, it looks beautiful.

    I might not be able to, my VHS player is on the fritz. *sad face*

  6. Thanks for the shout out!

    I’m hoping to do more of those Random Notes posts – they seem to be more in the spirit of blogging and might get me posting more (not that volume is a sign of quality…).

    I was looking forward to both “One, Two, Three” and “Midnight”, but I was still surprised at how sharp and quick both their scripts were…I’ve always liked Wilder, but now I’m a fan.

  7. Sometimes volume helps lead to quality, sometimes I just wait around for something good to come up, and I find I just neglect my blogging duties all together. If I just keep writing and posting, I figure once in a while, something of quality will pop up 😀

    Wilder is great, and I still have many of his films to see. Have you seen the Major and the Minor? That one has been on my list of movies to watch for ages, I’ve never gotten around to it. If you’re a fan of his, I also highly recommend Lubitsch, who he himself considers the greatest director. They worked together on scripts, but both have very different styles tonally.

Leave a Reply

