Movies: Favourites

Is there an easier way to get back into the groove than to share some favourites? A reminder of what I love about the movies. 25 Favourite Alphabetically.

Bonnie and Clyde (Penn, 1967)

Catch-22 (Nichols, 1970)

City Lights (Chaplin, 1931)

Cluny Brown (Lubitsch, 1946)

Jules et Jim (Truffaut, 1962)

Laura (Preminger, 1944)

Notorious (Hitchcock, 1946)

Odd Man Out (Reed, 1947)

Pandora’s Box (Pabst, 1929)

Picnic at Hanging Rock (Weir, 1975)

Portrait of Jennie (Dieterle, 1948)

Roman Holiday (Wyler, 1953)

Some Like it Hot (Wilder, 1959)

Stella Dallas (Vidor, 1937)

Sunset Blvd. (Wilder, 1950)

The Awful Truth (McCarey, 1937)

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly (Leone, 1966)

The Long Goodbye (Altman, 1973)

The New World (Malick, 2005)

The Night of the Hunter (Laughton, 1955)

The Red Shoes (Powell & Pressburger, 1948)

The Third Man (Reed, 1949)

The 39 Steps (Hitchcock, 1935)

The Wizard of Oz (Fleming, 1939)

To Be or Not To Be (Lubitsch, 1942)

11 responses to “Movies: Favourites

  1. Alpha order?
    Audrey, Barbara, and Jennifer–good ladies. ❤ Ah, and I see Tierney, Brooks, and Shearer up there, too. It just needs some Jean Arthur and you’ve captured my heart.

  2. Ranking is difficult, yes!

    I have a lot of Jennifer Jones on my list, I truly adore her. Actually, I love all the actresses you listed (clearly). Arthur could make it if I were to expand the list, I lurve Only Angels Have Wings.

  3. Hi, Mrs Peel !

    What a nice choice 🙂
    I find it difficult to rank, or simply to choose my 10, or 20 favourite movies of all time. It often changes. I love many Powell-Pressburger and Billy Wilder films, and thanks for The Night of the Hunter and its childish-nightmare atmosphere, for Picnic at Hanging Rock, one of the most enigmatic movies ever, and for City Lights. I would have added All That Heaven Allows, of Douglas Sirk, and nearly all of the Borzage movies from the 20’s and 30 ‘s.
    I see that nearly all genres, from “films noirs” to screwball comedy, musicals and drama, are in your list. Did you mean it or was your choice spontaneous ?

  4. I love Douglas Sirk, and Imitation of Life in particular was VERY close to being in the top 25. I really need to see more Borzage, though, I’ve only seen History is Made at Night and A Farewell to Arms. So many of his are high on my to see list though, it would be futile to list which.

    I didn’t even notice that, it’s not intentional in the least. Film noir and comedies are probably my favourite genres, so I think there are a few more from them then others. There is certainly a diversity though…

  5. the way i put my top 100 in order, i went to criticker, made a list of every movie i scored over 80 or so, whittled that down to 100 that i really liked, put all the titles on index cards, and went one-by-one thinking whether i liked this one better than that one, and put ’em in order. But it does fluctuate everyday, so you’re probably onto something with the simple alphabetical thing 😛

    Anyway, your list is STILL probably my favorite among everyone at TLC 🙂 Bonnie & Clyde, City Lights, Sunset Blvd., GBU, Long Goodbye, New World, Night of the Hunter, Third Man, 39 Steps…all so wonderful!

  6. That’s pretty intense, a good system. I have a word file with every film I’ve seen listed by year, and ordered by relative preference. I go through it to make my list. I do find I rush through it however, so my ranking is never quite right. If ever I do a very “super-serious” favourite list, I think I’ll use your system though, forces a lot more thought.

    Thank you! I’m still such a Hollywood baby, I can’t get enough of it’s charms.

  7. Just came over at the behest of Siren. What heaven. mrsemmapeel(10 points on the name,I wanted to be Emma Peel when I was 12)Notorious, The Awful Truth, Catch 22, Laura and the Wizard of Oz on the same list? Bookmarked forever.

  8. Interesting list. Mine always changes, plus I make a big distinction between “favorites” and “best.” There are films that I know are far from art that I’ll watch at the drop of a rat (I don’t wear hats) and films I recognize as great that I don’t much feel the desire to rewatch.

  9. I STILL want to be Emma Peel, the epitome of feminine cool.

    I still battle with that a little myself, but I think I always lean towards the former. I’ve never set out to make a list of “best”, I think because it betrays my own relationship with cinema. Also, I feel that if I were to make a list of best, it would be little more than a rehash of popular canons, or simply be filled with personal favourites anyway.

  10. I can tell you are someone I’d like to read more writings from…many of these choices are spot on – “Night of the Hunter,” “anything WILDER,” and especially “Picnic at Hanging Rock” tell me you know your stuff. Nothing compares to a good B&W film! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

