You waited how long?

I waited a meager 2 1/2 hours for the Dark Knight, nothing compared to the die-hards who probably started assembling around mid-afternoon to catch the “film of the year”. Here in Montreal, the place to be was the Paramount (Scotia Bank Centre) on St. Catherine Street, and people were lined up all the way down to De Maisonneuve. It was my first midnight show, and I have to say, it was pretty incredible… aside from almost falling asleep before the film even started.

I’m not going to get into a review right now, but suffice to say the film exceeded my expectations. I’m hardly a fan of superhero films, aside from the ocassional light enjoyment, but this film truly trascends the genre, setting the bar for future films of it’s type very high… it might be a very long time until someone matches/exceeds it.

It’s also refreshing to see a film do well that truly deserves it’s accolades and is a genuinly good film, instead of tired cliches and mediocrity.

6 responses to “You waited how long?

  1. the more 4 stars and 10/10s and A+’s and posthumous Heath Ledger oscar nomination guarantees I see, the more I’m convinced I’ll be disappointed by the movie 😦 . And there was no bigger Batman Begins fan than this guy right here.

    Tell me I’m wrong? 😕

  2. I haven’t seen Batman Begins, and did my best to avoid all the hype, reviews, etc. Before the film, I only saw one trailer and even that, just once. I can’t guarantee anything either way. I hope you like it.

  3. Only 1.5 hours! Ha! I almost didn’t have an expectation since I steered clear of the hype. But my brother had to call me all so excitedly the night before wanting so badly to discuss the movie. It RAISED MY HOPE. Not that it matters really.

  4. I avoided all the hype too, I think before I saw the film I only saw one trailer, and that was in theatres. I’m happy I did, really swell movie.

  5. I wish I could say that the film exceeded my expectations, but it didn’t. It is one of the better summer movies I have seen, but I’ve seen better. If only Nolan had left out that contrived and tacked on last half hour.

Leave a Reply

