Formalities

I’m hardly new to the blog-o-sphere, and even have a semi-popular film blog in operations. Why then, the change? I can’t really explain it, despite my “success” (which was and is very minor) the place took on an aura I have grown to hate. I just didn’t look forward to posting, or reading comments anymore. I stopped updating and have grown to hate it. I might eventually turn back and return to it, but for now this is my new home and I hope the experience is more rewarding this time round. There is so much to be enjoyed and learned by reading and sharing in online discussions, I love film and aside from watching it, very few things bring me as much joy as reading and writing about it. I hope this is a fruitful venture!

To get to know me a little, here is a list of my ever changing twenty favourite films

The Red Shoes (Michael Powell & Emeric Pressburger, 1948)
Bonnie and Clyde (Arthur Penn, 1967)
Jules et Jim (Francois Truffaut, 1962)
Sunset Blvd. (Billy Wilder, 1950)
It’s a Wonderful Life (Frank Capra, 1946)
Picnic at Hanging Rock (Peter Weir, 1975)
To be or Not to Be (Ernst Lubitsch, 1942)
City Lights (Charles Chaplin, 1931)
Some Like it Hot (Billy Wilder, 1959)
The Awful Truth (Leo McCarey, 1937)
The Searchers (John Ford, 1956)
Roman Holiday (William Wyler, 1953)
Duck, you Sucker! (Sergio Leone, 1971)
Notorious (Alfred Hitchcock, 1946)
The Night of the Hunter (Charles Laughton, 1955)
The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp (Michael Powell & Emeric Pressburger, 1943)
The New World (Terrence Malick, 2005))
Pandora’s Box (G.W. Pabst, 1929)
8 ½ (Federico Fellini, 1963)
Nashville (Robert Altman, 1975)

11 responses to “Formalities

  1. I see that you’ve not added Chicks on fire. Does this mean you’re not returning to that either? It would be fine with me, Rouge. I know I come to hate certain things created by me sometimes too, and I have turned away from them in the past, so maybe I could sympathize with you. I hope this is more enjoyable venture and certainly more to your liking. Good luck on this blog, I’m sure you won’t need it but it’d be handy in any case.

  2. Mango: it did and it will, I just need to find something I like. I’m very picky about styles, I’m already working on changing my posting, although in the beginning it’s going to be the same. I’m always happy to have you come around and piss me off Mango, few do it better !

    Aurelle: Oh no, I’m still interested, I’m just very slow at replenishing the blogroll. Chicks was always fun for me

  3. oh and Mango, since I can’t comment on your site? Bouguereau? Mais, quelle misere. It’s still perfectly in your vein, anti-anti-establishment in a strange artificial way. I mean that as a compliment, I think it’s beautiful.

  4. I’m trying to find one that fits, I feel limited by everything… but I think Welles said something that great art can only come from limitations. I’ll work on it.

  5. Great list, Rouge. I’ll never see eye to eye with you on Terrence Malick, but I’m glad I discovered your new location. I hope you find inspiration to keep writing about film. You’ve given me a lot of rental ideas for movies pre-1967.

  6. I’ll update! Hopefully… I’m particular with Malick, I love the New World and Badlands and am completely indifferent to Days of Heaven. I don’t have much to desire to see The Thin Red Line.

  7. Rouge, I have changed the link to your blog on mine to reflect this change. However, I beg of you, please, PLEASE, anything but black or red background. My eyes hurt every time I visit a site of this background, so I can do nothing but not read the content. This message costs me grief but I had to tell you. Now I must stop and leave this page before my eyes burn. xox.

  8. I actually really like black, I diddn’t know anyone had trouble. I don’t know if there are any other skins at the moment I like… if there is something you really want to read I can post it somewhere else, but I will look into changing it if possible.

Leave a Reply

