My Top Ten of 2009

It took me long enough, and it’s not even like I have write-ups, reviews or any real insight… I haven’t even watched a 2009 film since like… 2009. Some background; I watched 72 releases last year in theatres and on DVD. I enjoyed most, hated a few. The top 6 or so are among the best films I’ve ever seen. I’ve written about a few of them already, many of them not. I don’t have much else to say.

  1. Love Exposure (Sion Sono)
  2. A Serious Man (Coens)
  3. Inglourious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino)
  4. Bright Star (Jane Campion)
  5. Adventureland (Greg Motolla)
  6. The White Ribbon (Michael Haneke)
  7. Fantastic Mr. Fox (Wes Anderson)
  8. The Hurt Locker (Kathryn Bigelow)
  9. A Single Man (Tom Ford)
  10. The Last House on the Left (Dennis Iliadis)

8 responses to “My Top Ten of 2009

  1. It was your original praise for Love Exposure that really forced me to sit down and watch all four hours of that film and what a film it was. My only really objection would be Fantastic Mr. Fox, but overall I just love the list!!

  2. I’ve never heard of Love Exposure but this has piqued my interest (together with Christopher’s praise).

    My top 4 would be:

    Antichrist
    Ponyo
    Public Enemies
    Avatar

    By the way, this is a very nicely arranged site.

  3. Finally one of the most awaited film this year was released in the world. Alice In Wonderland, which is the best adventure stories of all time is more attractive and grand format thanks to the cast is fantastic dimension 3.

    Starting from the dreams Kingsley Alice (Mia Wasikowska) at 7-year-old was first brought into Wonderland. At that moment he felt that it was a dream, especially his beloved father Marton Csokas (Charles Kingsley) was also persuasive.

  4. As long as Inglariuos Basstirdz wasn’t your No. 1, I’m happy lol . . . I can’t wait to see Love Exposure (though I know I *will* be waiting) . . .

    I’m also confident at this point that I will eat up Antichrist– it sounds like a kind of horror Cries and Whispers redux! I’m even halfway curious to see Enter the Void (or is it “Into”–I can never remember). My brother is a bit of an Irreversible fan (I know: he’s always going on about his old roommate, who namedropped Salo and Cannibal Holocaust as two films he really wanted to see, like the guy was going to cut his throat in his sleep or something, and I’m like ‘Bro, don’t you possess copies of both those films?’ –full disclosure: the copy of Cannibal Holocaust is a handmedown from me (I only watched it once!) and he hasn’t watched it and I don’t think he’s even watched his copy of Salo yet but]– my brother is an Irreversible fan, I say, yet he seems oblivious to the “Void” even though I mention it to him.

    Poor James Cameron. No love for James Cameron?! lol

  5. I just want to say that alice sucked. The book is my favourite book of all time and they did so many things wrong. I understand that it is set in the future and isn’t the story of the book but the red queen and the queen of hearts are two different people and if you have the whit queen you need the red queen not the queen of hearts. I also hated jhonny depps mad hatter. He was way too much of a main character and really annoying. Pretty much a huge disappointment.

Leave a Reply

