Five Best Films I saw in January

Aside from having a record amount of hits this month, I saw a shit-load of damn good films. It was really hard to narrow it down to just five. Though it seems doubtful, I can only keep up this good fortune for the rest of the year!! As always, only first time viewings and alphabetical order.

Anatomy of Hell (Catherine Breillat, 2004)

Evil Dead II (Sam Raimi, 1987)

Frailty (Bill Paxton, 2001)

Lola (Rainer Werner Fassbinder, 1981)

The Marriage of Maria Braun (Rainer Werner Fassbinder, 1979)

6 responses to “Five Best Films I saw in January

  1. You watched Anatomy of Hell and liked it, no less?! I’m so excited! Can I get your thoughts on it?

  2. My thoughts are coming sometime this month, I watched Anatomy of Hell for that thread about watching a film from a director you are otherwise unfamiliar with. I’ll sum up my brief thoughts though; Rocco Siffredi Rocco Siffredi Rocco Siffredi Rocco Siffredi Rocco Siffredi Rocco Siffredi WANT WANT WANT.

  3. Haha on the Rocco bit! . . . but please do share your thoughts on the Fassbinders too (did Petra Von Kant not make the cut?; and did you watch Veronika Voss yet?).

    Have you been a Breillat enthusiast long?

    If you’ve seen Inferno feel free to weight in again on me and Wooley vis-a-vis The Howling’s thread . . . we’re still hashing this Argento controversy out!

    (and if you havne’t watched Inferno, skip the plot spoilers cause I’d hate to take off any of the freshness before the film unveils itself in all its glory)

  4. I’ll see what I can do about Fassbinder. I still haven’t seen Petra Von Kant, but I have a copy. I did however watch Veronika Voss, which just missed the cut this time around. I suppose I could have cheated though and lumped the BDR trilogy as a single entry.

    Nope, that was my first Breillat and certainly not my last.

    I haven’t seen it yet, so I’ll wait on that. The discussion is interesting though.

    James: I could certainly see why someone would feel that way, it’s not an easy palatable film in many ways, even beyond the imagery.

    Thank you, I thought it was nifty too.

Leave a Reply

